How do I control site access?
By default, sites are available (published) and access is restricted to the individuals you add to the site yourself. You may modify your site access settings to save your site as a draft, or to allow anyone with a UVACollab account (anyone with a UVA computing ID and anyone with a non-UVA guest account) to join your site.
Published sites are available to all site participants. If the site is left as draft, or unpublished, only instructors/site administrators may access it.
If site visibility is set to Display in Site Browser, anyone may search for your site from the Site Browser on the UVACollab Gateway and view certain content in the site that is set to Public access, e.g., items in Announcements, Resources, Syllabus can be set to public access.
If set to Do not display in Site Browser (the default), your site will not appear in the Site Browser list.
In most cases, site owners keep the default value for Limited to whom I add manually, or through automatic roster updates. This will restrict access to people that you manually add or that are enrolled automatically by roster data from the Student Information System (SIS).
If Allow anyone to join the site with valid login id is selected, *anyone* with an account in UVACollab (UVA participants and non-UVA guest accounts) may search for and join your site.
INSTRUCTORS: In most cases, instructors should not configure a course site to be joinable. Doing so does not enroll a student in your course and is not the sanctioned method for making course sites available to students. Instead, an official class roster from SIS should be added to the site to give officially enrolled students access to it.